Musings

This is The Year

This is The year. That’s what everyone says at the beginning of a new year isn’t it? Well, this year really will be The year. The year for happiness and health; the year for new experiences and new friendships. I already have so much lined up in comparison to last year, that for once I am genuinely truly excited.

2016, for me, was all about exhaustion and learning to be a parent. I didn’t anything well at all, and lived in a constant state of stress and worry. Towards the end of the year, things started to turn around…or rather I decided to stick my middle finger up to all the negativity. It was touch and go, and me and my ‘gremlin’ (the name given to my negative state) really did build a love/hate relationship.

2017, for me, really is a fresh start. It’s the reason I need to take the next exciting steps in my life, and to turn it around. To stop whinging and whining and complaining about everything, and actually do something about it.

Here’s what I have planned:

Wedding: My sister is getting married this year! How exciting! I have the privilege of being her Maid of Honour, and so have lots to plan and some weight to shift.

London Show: My lovely partner has bought tickets for me to see School of Rock in the West End. Better yet, it’s on my birthday! Oh how I miss London…I am truly looking forward to spending the weekend up there. Not to mention being child free and the two of us having some quality time together.

Segway Experience: Bought for me and my partner as a Christmas present from my Mum and her husband. Something neither of us have done before, so we are looking forward to it…just need to book a date.

Word Bandit: I am restarting my freelance writing career. Just need to give the website a bit of a refresh, and start working on that content. I’ll be up and running in no time.

Parenting and PND: At the end of 2016 I started work on a new blog. Having suffered greatly with postnatal depression and postnatal OCD, I feel like I need to at least try and help others who find themselves in the same position. It’s a scary time, especially when you feel unable to turn to anyone in case they judge you. Over the next few months I want to get this blog going properly, and build up a decent social media presence for it.

Bognor News: There is a new start-up online news platform in my area, which is aiming to be underway in February. I am looking forward to being part of this venture, and seeing where it takes us in the future.

So it’s only the second day of the year, and already I have lots of things to plan and get excited for. Who needs new year resolutions when you have such a list?

To health, happiness and prosperity – Happy New Year to all!

happy-new-year-champagne

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

